Happy 4th of July!

 

image

It’s Independence Day, which also means it’s pie day around these parts!  Of course, don’t confuse this Pie Day with that other Pi Day.  Well, actually, if I had my druthers (and a faster metabolism) everyday would be Pie Day!  It’s my favorite dessert.  Particularly apple pie, but, really, I never met a pie flavor I didn’t like.  How many people can say they’ve traveled 5 hours, one way, just to go to a place called Pie Town?  Not many, I would guess.  Sure, I make a pie just as good at home, but it’s the principle of the thing!  I remember my mother asking why I didn’t just go to Rock Springs Pie Café 30 minutes away in Black Canyon City.  I just shook my head, and thought to myself, “If she has to ask that question, she’ll never understand the answer.”  Anyway, I never understood the buzz surrounding that place.  I don’t care for their pies at all.

Lately, I’ve taken to making empanadas, or hand pies … whatever you choose to call them.  A) because I’m never serving a large crowd these days and B) because they’re easy to store and freeze exceptionally well for those unexpected cravings.  Sure, I can’t dump a truckload of streusel on top of them … hmm, actually, I think I still could.  Note to self: try that next time 😀 .

image

Anyway, that’s what I’m up to today: baking apple empanadas.  I wish the lighting for my pictures was better, but Phoenix, AZ picked this one day to be overcast 😀   If I actually used a recipe for these, I’d be happy to give it to you, but I’m notorious for “winging it.”  I chop some apples, add some sugar, cinnamon, a pinch of salt and some lemon juice, then simmer it all until the apples are tender.  After that, I thicken it with a little cornstarch slurry, then let it cool.  My pie crust is the classic Crisco crust – and before you get all hoity-toity and demand to know why not butter, I have to say that butter crusts just don’t do it for me.  They’re never flaky enough.  And heck, have you seen the price of butter these day?  Ridiculous.  Roll, fill, egg wash, sugar and bake.  Easy as … well, pie!

Going along with the discussion of pie, I made pie softies some time ago for my shop – and it’s probably about time I released a pattern for them, too!  I’ll definitely keep you apprised of that here in the coming weeks, and check out the finished product at https://www.etsy.com/listing/184210513/small-knitted-pie-softies-individual?ref=shop_home_feat_4 !

Food, parties, memories, friends, family and good times are definitely All-American things … things that our unique freedoms allow us to enjoy.  So, I hope everyone has a wonderful, relaxing day enjoying all of those things!

image

Leave a Reply

