The Latest Bizarre Knit!

Social media is an amazing thing – it allows us to connect with people we’d never have met otherwise, and can reconnect us with people we never thought we’d see again.  For me, one of those people was an old Jr. High and High School Friend that I hadn’t seen in over 15 years.  We reconnected on Facebook and realized that we’re still just as crazy as we were back then!

I often put pictures of my knitted toys up on my personal Facebook page for my friends to see.  On a recent picture I posted, this dear friend made a very random reference (or par-reference, I suppose) to the Mystery Science Theater 3000 Movie by asking if I was building an Interocitor.  For those unfamiliar with this term, it’s a machine used in the 1955 movie “This Island Earth” which was featured in the Mystery Science Theater 3000 movie.  Within the plot of the movie, this device was sent unassembled to scientists to test their abilities.

Well, being the silly person I am, this comment put the seed in my head – I must KNIT an Interocitor!  So, that’s exactly what I did!

interocitor knitted

I know, I know … I’m sure everyone wants one now, but this is likely going to be a one-off and not for sale.  It was one of those knits that drove me nuts – looks relatively simple, but the shaping was difficult to achieve.  I think one of my dreams is to have an exhibit somewhere of these types of crazy toys that no one else will ever think of knitting!

If you haven’t seen the movie, it’s worth checking out.  And if you haven’t seen Mystery Science Theater 3000 … well, I command you to check that show out NOW!  I’m pretty sure that YouTube has every episode, and likely the movie, too.  For those curious, my shop’s name is actually a reference to Mystery Science Theater – a friend of mine would always mix up the names of the two Mad Scientists from the show: Dr. Forrester and TV’s Frank.  She wound up mashing them together, and over time that evolved into my own nickname.  I hardly ever hear my real name anymore!

Have a wonderfully silly day!!

Leave a Reply

